history of the people of Twyford, Charndon, Poundon & Calvert Events, life and culture
Twyford in brief
The first recorded evidence of Twyford is in 1066 when the land was owned by Gode, the daughter of King Ethelred the Unready and the sister of King Edward the Confessor.
Following the Norman invasion, the Domesday book in 1086 shows the holder of the land was Ralph de Fougeres.
The Norman Church dates from the 12th century and the oldest property in the village, The Rectory or Vicarage, dates back to the 15th century.
The population suffered a decline following the Black Death in 1348 and did not recover until the opening of the Calvert Brickworks in 1900 and the Great Central Railway in 1899, both of which provided employment.
Twyford is still largely a thriving farming community, with one remaining pub, a church, a chapel, a primary school, a village hall and a community shop with a coffee shop.Scroll down to discover more
Discover more about life in Twyford through the ages, from work and industry to sports and wars.
Take a look through a selection of historic maps, newspaper reports, census transcripts and more.
We are Twyford Local History Group
The group was founded in 2019 with a Heritage Lottery Fund Grant for the purpose of gathering the history of the village and its residents so that this information is available to the public at open day events and online.Get involved