Twyford boasts a complete cross section of housing, the oldest being 15th C, to modern day properties.

The haphazard locations of the properties signify the random development that has taken place where old building have either collapsed or burnt down to be replaced by a new house. Many social houses were built after the second world war in both Bicester Road and Portway road to accommodate workers for the brickworks.

Apart from St Mary’s Church, the oldest property is St Mary’s House which was the vicarage until 1966. It is an original double hall house dating back to the 15th C and is listed in Pevsner and Williamson’s Buildings of England.

There are several delightful timber-framed, thatched cottages in Main Street and Church street.

Twyford has two mill houses, one on Mill Lane which is part of an equestrian business and another called Three Bridge Mill, near the Seven Stars pub on the Gawcott Road.

Main Street with The Haven, Holly Cottage, Rosemary Cottage

The Crown, North View and Stonecroft

The Grange (now Lime Tree Court) with Mr and Mrs Leslie Flatt

Twyford Post Office

The Red Lion from church tower c. 1941

Willow Cottage (The Old Crown)

Willow Cottage with Edna Allen (Hodges) at gate approx 1929

The Knob looking towards Bicester Road and the Chapel